Re: Featured White Papers from Database Trends and Applications December 2009
Posted in 2009
Topics: General Discussion
Speaking as member of the IIUG Board of Directors: It's SPAM dude! More reprehensible than most I think since it's from what's supposed to be a reputable source (meaning emedia Pro). Pretending to be from the IIUG - it is not BTW, the BOD did not authorize any email to go to its mailing list - is unforgivable. The BOD will discuss whether we have any legal or other recourse to prevent a recurrence at our next meeting. I repeat what has been reported to the IIUG Membership over and over: The IIUG NEVER provides its email list or members' physical contact information to ANYONE, ever. Art Art S. Kagel Oninit (www.oninit.com) IIUG Board of Directors (art@iiug.org) See you at the 2010 IIUG Informix Conference April 25-28, 2010 Overland Park (Kansas City), KS www.iiug.org/conf Disclaimer: Please keep in mind that my own opinions are my own opinions and do not reflect on my employer, Oninit, the IIUG, nor any other organization with which I am associated either explicitly or implicitly. Neither do those opinions reflect those of other individuals affiliated with any entity with which I am affiliated nor those of the entities themselves. On Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 10:20 AM, Ian Michael Gumby <im_gumby@hotmail.com>wrote: > Sorry to top post, > > Got the mail headers. > Here's the line in question... > "From: "IIUG - International Informix Users Group" < > Unisphere.Research@emediapro.com>" > > > Is it possible that I subscribed to emedia.pro? Maybe. But that's not the > point. > Had I subscribed, why would they send me something as if it was from the > IIUG? > > > I would really appreciate a response from the IIUG. > Did they 'share/sell' our contact information? > Had I subscribed, why would they then send it to me as 'IIUG'? >
Art Kagel wrote: > Speaking as member of the IIUG Board of Directors: > > It's SPAM dude! More reprehensible than most I think since it's from > what's supposed to be a reputable source (meaning emedia Pro). > Pretending to be from the IIUG - it is not BTW, the BOD did not > authorize any email to go to its mailing list - is unforgivable. I rather suspected it was. I emailed them to ask why they were pretending to be the IIUG when they clearly weren't. -- Ian The Hotmail address is my spam-bin. Real mail address is iang at austonley org uk
> From: goddai01@hotmail.co.uk > Subject: Re: Featured White Papers from Database Trends and Applications December 2009 > Date: Thu, 10 Dec 2009 19:35:16 +0000 > To: informix-list@iiug.org > > Art Kagel wrote: > > Speaking as member of the IIUG Board of Directors: > > > > It's SPAM dude! More reprehensible than most I think since it's from > > what's supposed to be a reputable source (meaning emedia Pro). > > Pretending to be from the IIUG - it is not BTW, the BOD did not > > authorize any email to go to its mailing list - is unforgivable. > > I rather suspected it was. I emailed them to ask why they were > pretending to be the IIUG when they clearly weren't. > Unfortunately it is not Spam. Art, unless Stuart fesses up, why don't you explain the relationship between the IIUG and DBTA (Unisphere Media)? Its not spam and the truth isn't that bad. Perhaps Art will want to rephrase his comment(s). C'mon guys, do you really want me to set the record straight? What do you think that would do to the IIUG's credibility? I've got no skin in the game and I'll be more than willing to share what I know... :-) _________________________________________________________________ Windows Live Hotmail is faster and more secure than ever. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowslive/hotmail_bl1/hotmail_bl1.aspx?ocid=PID23879::T:WLMTAGL:ON:WL:en-ww:WM_IMHM_1:092009