Re: Freed logical log files Online 7.13 UC3
Posted in 1997
Rudy Fernandes — — source: Informix-list mailing list archive (1991-1998)
In article <5hgvkn$it2$1@mhade.production.compuserve.com>, Anon-user <75052.1341@CompuServe.COM> wrote: >I understand that the 'B' indicates the logfile has been backed >up to tape and is available for re-use (i.e. free). A logfile >will not be backed up to tape until all transactions within it >have been committed - therefore if it is flagged 'U-B' it always >means all transactions have been committed and saved to tape. Not quite right, this. A log file with open transactions WILL get backed up; however, it will NOT BE FREED (i.e cannot be overwritten) until all open transactions start in a log file subsequent to it. ----------------------- Rudy Fernandes GIC, Kuwait OL 7.20UC4, 4GL 6.04UC1 -----------------------