RE: Informix versus oracle
Posted in 2003
Actually, the purpose for archived log mode is more for the purposes of
point-in-time recovery, and the ability to perform online backups. If you
are not running in archive log mode, then the redo logs get cycled through
regardless. If you are running in archive log mode, then the redo logs
must get backed up before they can be used again. Generally most people
turn this feature on when switching the instance to use archive logs mode -
if it is not set to automatically backup up these files, then you must
archive them manually - working much the same if you forget to backup
logical logs using onbar (which I have seen most often scripted into the
alarm program for informix).
As I stated originally, I could go more in depth with this subject without
having to reference another document, but I am only trying to hit the high
level concepts - for more information on Oracle, it should be moved to
Oracle's usenet groups.
-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Townsend [SMTP:markbtownsend@attbi.com]
Sent: Sunday, June 08, 2003 5:45 PM
To: informix-list@iiug.org
Subject: Re: Informix versus oracle
Jonathan Leffler wrote:
> Dusty Haas wrote:
>
>> Actually, Oracle has been able to take on-line backups for a long time.
>>
>> There are a few different methods -
>
>
>
> Thanks for the explanation.
It's useful, but not quite 100% correct. You need to look at the doc to
get a full view - suggest you start with the Backup and Recovery
Concepts -
http://download-east.oracle.com/docs/cd/B10501_01/server.920/a96519/intr
o.htm#BROVW001
Note that you may need a logon to OTN, but it's free, and we won't bite
(much)
>> [...] You must be running in "archive log mode" for this to work
>> though or you would get an error saying that the instance must be in
>> archive log mode. [...]
>
>
>
> What is the significance of 'archive log mode'? Does it place
> restrictions on what can happen to the database(s) while the system is
> in that mode? What restrictions?
>
Archive log mode means that the current redo logs are being copied to
another destination after they are used (after a log switch), so that
they can become available for re-use as required.