Re: Can't empty logical-log files
Posted in 1997
>The "B" indicates that the log has been backed up, and
>will be available for reuse.
>
>An Informix engineer told me that while `ontape -s`
>backs up the logs they are not released for reuse until
>you execute an 'ontape -a' or '-c'. That didn't sound
>right to me. I don't see any mention of this in my
>manuals - has anybody heard that this is the case?
Correct on one point ... the "B" means that the log has been backed
up. On the other, though, the log is freed when it is needed again,
even though it shows as 100% used ... provided the "B" flag is set.
Thus, if you have log N approaching 100% full, and log N+1 shows 100%
used, N+1 will be freed automatically and reused if the flags start
with 'U-B---', just like if the flags were 'F------'. The reason for
this was that folks wanted to access the contents of the logs after
they had been backed up. Once it is freed, none of the onstat
commands can dump it.
This feature started in about 7.2x or so, if you want to check release
notes for the exact data.
David