onrestorept vs. onmode -b?
Posted in 2018
Topics: Backup & Restore, Installation, Setup & Upgrades, Server Administration
IDS 12.10.FC3
Solaris 10 1/13
I am preparing to do an in-place upgrade from 12.10.FC3 to 12.10.FC11. (I have
completely separate directories for existing 12.10.FC3 and the new 12.10.FC11.)
In the event of a failed upgrade, is "onrestorept" the recommended first line
of attack? "Or onmode -b"?
Would doing an 'ontape' cold restore from a level 0 archive (taken immediately
prior to the upgrade attempt) be the third thing to try?
I am not expecting any trouble, but want to be prepared.
I do not upgrade very often, so wish to exercise the utmost caution, and be
prepared.
Thank you.
DG
Original post:
IDS 12.10.FC3
Solaris 10 1/13
I am preparing to do an in-place upgrade from 12.10.FC3 to 12.10.FC11. (I have
completely separate directories for existing 12.10.FC3 and the new 12.10.FC11.)
In the event of a failed upgrade, is "onrestorept" the recommended first line
of attack? "Or onmode -b"?
Would doing an 'ontape' cold restore from a level 0 archive (taken immediately
prior to the upgrade attempt) be the third thing to try?
I am not expecting any trouble, but want to be prepared.
I do not upgrade very often, so wish to exercise the utmost caution, and be
prepared.
Thank you.
DG
Repsonse:
So onrestorept and onmode -b would be used in different situations. You would
only use onrestorept in the event that the conversion failed some portion of
the way through and the server came offline without having completed the
conversion. If the conversion completes successfully (as indicated by messages
in MSGPATH) and for some reason after the conversion is done and you want to
go back to your previous version, you would use onmode -b. So onrestorept is
to back out of a conversion that failed in progress, while onmode -b is used
to revert to a previous version after the system had been successfully
converted.
Yes, taking a full level 0 archive right before doing your conversion is also
recommended, and yes that archive could be used to restore your system back to
it's pre-conversion attempt state.
Jacques Renaut
HCL Informix Advanced Support
David,
best to configure onrestorept (CONVERSION_GUARD & RESTORE_POINT_DIR in the
onconfig file). Just make sure RESTORE_POINT_DIR has available space (only
stores the before images of any converted pages as I recall).
I have had to utilize onrestorept functionality before and it is a very handy
and useful feature as you don't have to perform a lengthy cold restore should
the upgrade process fail for whatever reason. If the upgrade is successful
then the data in the RESTORE_POINT_DIR is removed automatically so if you have
to revert back after this point then you have to use onmode -b or a level 0
restore.
Mark
Jacques & Mark,
Thank you both for your helpful, clarifying explanations. Obviously, I was
confused about the role and function of onrestorept and onmode -b. I
appreciate the commetns.
DG