Re: A few questions
Posted in 1999
> >In 7.3 I see that after backing up old log files, they get marked U > and B. > >In 5.0, I see that instead of marking the logs U (used), and B > (backed-up), it marks them as F (free). > >Is this behavior normal, or is something wrong with my 7.3 instance. > >I am just wondering when those logs marked as U and B become F > (free). > > This is normal, all version 7 ports (and probably 6 as well) behave > like this. It's a bit irritating, because some of the course notes and > (I think) some of the documentation still refers to the old "F" > behaviour. > > So your v7 logs will never be marked as free. Actually, _almost_ all version 7 ports. The first 7.10 ports behaved the same as you describe for version 5.0. The change was made in 7.10.UD2, but some of us had 7.10.UC[1,2,3]. One explanation that was given (by an Informix support person) was that it was necessary to allow HDR (the first replication supported by Informix) to handle temporary communications problems between replicated servers by not freeing the logs until absolutely necessary. Don't know if that's true or not. Mark Collins mcollins@us.dhl.com Windows 95: 32 bit extensions and a graphical shell for a 16 bit patch to an 8 bit operating system originally coded for a 4 bit processor, written by a 2 bit company that can't stand 1 bit of competition.