RE: email question
Posted in 2009
Thanks Stuart, That was all that I was asking for. Just a simple clarification. Except for one small detail. The IIUG says that they don't share the e-mail list with anyone. Looks like you have to amend your privacy statement. You do have a privacy statement, right? Also by CC'ing this to the list, now everyone knows that this e-mail wasn't spam. That it was approved by the IIUG and that they only e-mail us stuff with the approval of the IIUG. I didn't call it spam because I wasn't sure if this was legit. Date: Thu, 10 Dec 2009 12:24:03 -0500 To: im_gumby@hotmail.com From: president@iiug.org Subject: email question Michael I will answer you It is a registered third party email house that did the email for them... They had / have a deal with IIUG and other user groups that are all the same. They can blast to the list (well the third party people) can blast to the list with our permission. I gave them permission as it was a general database email. It went to our list and 5 other user group lists. It was NOT just to the IIUG members. In exchange the IIUG gets ad space for what the IIUG wished to advertise. the past few years it has been for the conference. Stuart Art, I just had an interesting phone call with someone from emedia. They said that they usually provide the information to the IIUG to send, however that if they sent it, they sent it to a list that they received from the IIUG. So, if the IIUG sent them the email list, then it isn't spam. Because I subscribe to the list. If they scraped the e-mails from Usenet, then its spam and we have an issue. Somehow I don't believe this to be the case because the person I spoke to seemed pretty sincere that they got the list from the IIUG. And as you said, they seem to be reputable... I would say that its a reasonable assumption for the IIUG to open up the door to allowing third parties to send us 'approved' e-mails for a fee. Some would say that this is in part of the value we offer to our 'sponsors'. And that's fine. I would just hope that the IIUG be more honest and open about this and the practice. It seems that they have our e-mail list, even though they said that they "don't own the list" . Which is saying that they'll send out e-mails on the IIUG's behalf. So, please talk amongst yourselves and please make some form of a formal statement to clear this up. Thx -G From: art@iiug.org Date: Thu, 10 Dec 2009 11:14:05 -0500 Subject: Re: Featured White Papers from Database Trends and Applications December 2009 To: im_gumby@hotmail.com CC: informix-list@iiug.org; iiug-board@iiug.org Speaking as member of the IIUG Board of Directors: It's SPAM dude! More reprehensible than most I think since it's from what's supposed to be a reputable source (meaning emedia Pro). Pretending to be from the IIUG - it is not BTW, the BOD did not authorize any email to go to its mailing list - is unforgivable. The BOD will discuss whether we have any legal or other recourse to prevent a recurrence at our next meeting. I repeat what has been reported to the IIUG Membership over and over: The IIUG NEVER provides its email list or members' physical contact information to ANYONE, ever. Art Windows LiveT Hotmail is faster and more secure than ever. Learn more. Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii" MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit Subject: confirm e62e9d0a30c02a863d3aeecb1716064927a30961 Sender: iiug-board-request@iiug.org From: iiug-board-request@iiug.org If you reply to this message, keeping the Subject: header intact, Mailman will discard the held message. Do this if the message is spam. If you reply to this message and include an Approved: header with the list password in it, the message will be approved for posting to the list. The Approved: header can also appear in the first line of the body of the reply. _________________________________________________________________ Windows Live Hotmail gives you a free,exclusive gift. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowslive/hotmail_bl1/hotmail_bl1.aspx?ocid=PID23879::T:WLMTAGL:ON:WL:en-ww:WM_IMHM_7:092009