RE: Featured White Papers from Database Trends and Applications December 2009
Posted in 2009
Thanks for the quick response Art. If what you said is true, then you do have some recourse. Outside of litigation, you can talk to their ISP (one above the company) and get them bounced for violation of their TOS. You can talk with IBM and with their cooperation, 'freeze out' this organization from anything to do with IBM. In today's age, its always better to ask than to make assumptions. Also they could have scraped our e-mail addresses from the usenet group since our e-mail addresses go un-munged. -G From: art@iiug.org Date: Thu, 10 Dec 2009 11:14:05 -0500 Subject: Re: Featured White Papers from Database Trends and Applications December 2009 To: im_gumby@hotmail.com CC: informix-list@iiug.org; iiug-board@iiug.org Speaking as member of the IIUG Board of Directors: It's SPAM dude! More reprehensible than most I think since it's from what's supposed to be a reputable source (meaning emedia Pro). Pretending to be from the IIUG - it is not BTW, the BOD did not authorize any email to go to its mailing list - is unforgivable. The BOD will discuss whether we have any legal or other recourse to prevent a recurrence at our next meeting. I repeat what has been reported to the IIUG Membership over and over: The IIUG NEVER provides its email list or members' physical contact information to ANYONE, ever. Art Art S. Kagel Oninit (www.oninit.com) IIUG Board of Directors (art@iiug.org) See you at the 2010 IIUG Informix Conference April 25-28, 2010 Overland Park (Kansas City), KS www.iiug.org/conf Disclaimer: Please keep in mind that my own opinions are my own opinions and do not reflect on my employer, Oninit, the IIUG, nor any other organization with which I am associated either explicitly or implicitly. Neither do those opinions reflect those of other individuals affiliated with any entity with which I am affiliated nor those of the entities themselves. On Thu, Dec 10, 2009 at 10:20 AM, Ian Michael Gumby <im_gumby@hotmail.com> wrote: Sorry to top post, Got the mail headers. Here's the line in question... "From: "IIUG - International Informix Users Group" <Unisphere.Research@emediapro.com>" Is it possible that I subscribed to emedia.pro? Maybe. But that's not the point. Had I subscribed, why would they send me something as if it was from the IIUG? I would really appreciate a response from the IIUG. Did they 'share/sell' our contact information? Had I subscribed, why would they then send it to me as 'IIUG'? _________________________________________________________________ Get gifts for them and cashback for you. Try Bing now. http://www.bing.com/shopping/search?q=xbox+games&scope=cashback&form=MSHYCB&publ=WLHMTAG&crea=TEXT_MSHYCB_Shopping_Giftsforthem_cashback_1x1