Clearing a log on Online workgroup server
Posted in 1999
I have an online workgroup server (version 7.22.TC1) running on Windows NT (version 4, svr pk 3). I need to clear the online.log which I assumed would be a simple procedure - however - Informix tech support has enlightened me to some of the shortcommings of NT. Tech support recommends deleting the old log, and creating a new online.log with a text editor. The warning is if the server wants to write to the log or is the process of writing to the log, it may come down while the log is being changed. They reccommend taking the server off-line to do this. This system is a 7x24 machine that I do not have the luxery of taking it off-line - I would really like to find another way to do this. My first thought was this: - create a file called empty.file (copy con empty.file, and then a <ctl><z>) - pipe the empty file into the current online.log ( type empty.file > online.log ) Has anyone encounterd this issue, found a solution, or see any reason why my solution would fail. Thanks - James Cardwell